JewMitch

Just a Jew. Named Mitch. Writing about his feelings.

PBR Sunday

Posted by JewMitch on June 1, 2009

pbr3

People often ask me, Mitch – you make zero dollars, how to afford to live in one of the most expensive cities in America?

Well first off, I collect unemployment. So thank you, America.

Second – I have gotten really good at finding free things to do in NYC. Everyone knows that most museums in New York offer a free day and that the Met is “pay what you wish”, but when you have the free time that I have and you’re a border line alcoholic, you have to dig a little deeper. Fortunately, there are several blogs and listservs devoted exclusively to this purpose and I follow all of them. For example, on Sunday, Pabst Blue Ribbon was sponsoring a bbq at some posh roof deck in the East Village and there was a free open mike night near there that promised free buns and jello shots.

Two free food/alcohol based events in one day! Perfect. So I called a friend of mine who also does stand up, and we decided to make a day of it. The PBR bbq was actually $3 for a plate of food, but PBR tall boys were free until 4:30. So at 4:27 we asked the bartender for a six pack for all our “friends.” Score. Then we loaded up our plates with burgers and chicken wings, while talking to tall blonde Estonian (yes – like from Estonia) women who had showed up for the live techno music. We also met a teacher who lived in Harlem but was moving downtown in two weeks. I kept trying to sing the Jefferson’s theme song to her, and she kept correcting me: “No, I’m moving downtown.” Still, I think she was amused since she gave me her phone number later.

Afterwards, we went to the comedy show. I was really hoping for cinnamon buns, but instead, they only had Mexican buns, that tasted like cardboard with frosting on top. Which I guess is what Mexican buns are supposed to taste like. My stand up set went fairly well, I rambled for a few minutes about farting at weddings, past girlfriends who have peed on me, and a guy who I had seen earlier that only had one leg and was rollerblading. I got laughs, but the host didn’t seem to like us very much – and instead of asking us back next week, he told us that next time they were going to use a lottery system and not let as many people go on stage.

Still, I feel like getting up on stage and not bombing is an achievement in itself, which a lot of people who claim to be interested in comedy never do. And then afterwards, I got to hang out with the other comics (some of whom were really good) and bullshit around for a bit. Which may not sound like much, but it’s sort of the ultimate for someone who’s been going to comedy shows as long as I have. And regardless of if I ever “make it” in any real capacity, it’s cool to have at least done that.

Anyway; here’s a breakdown for my spending for yesterday: $1 (everything bagel for breakfast) + $3 (bbq plate) + $1 (tip) + $4 (paid for one more beer after we drank all our free beers) + $1 (late night pizza slice) == $10 total for food + entertainment. Just living the dream.

2 Responses to “PBR Sunday”

  1. Jeff said

    Can we get a blog post about the girl that peed on you?

  2. Erin said

    Was this before or after grasser held hands with Darrel Strawberry? PS – Thanks for the ad – I’m trying to figure out how I can work JewMitch into my blog roll… we had our biggest day ever yesterday 159 visitors, 186 visits. Pretty exciting.

    Clearly it is all because of the link from your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
